That's me

When both of your parents are swimming coaches, water is your first natural environment - you learn to swim even before you can walk and it becomes omnipresent - your first love.  My name is Maria Ugolkova, I was born in Moscow in the middle of summer 1989. At that time, Michael Gorbachev was showing the world "perestroika" and "glasnost", and the Soviet Union was opening up. The municipal indoor swimming pool was where I spent most of my time – I could already swim at the age of two.

Since then swimming has become my life. 

________

When I was 16, I moved to Switzerland with my mother following her work as a swimming coach in Lugano. The next years were spent swimming, going to school, and more swimming. Italian language and lifestyle became my second love: the joy of life, exuberance, the good taste, southern culture, the musicality of the language and the cuisine. Ticino became my second home. I did my high school diploma at the Liceo Lugano and the same year (2009) I went to my first World Championship in Rome with the Russian National Swimming team. At that time, I already held 3 national Russian records. I thank my mother, who was my first coach until then, for all that success. 

 

________

 

At the age of 20, I moved to Lausanne to study economics at the local university and start swimming for Lausanne Natation. My mother stayed in Ticino. In 2012, I took part in European Championships for the last time as a member of the Russian national team. Two years later, I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Economics and one more language - French. 

________

In the summer of 2014, I then moved to pursue my studies to the German-speaking part of Switzerland, to Zurich. As a student, aged 24 and quadrilingual, I was facing the decision of whether to continue swimming or not. 

The Uster Wallisellen swimming club helped me in taking this decision. I found my new coach and my motivation. And at the same time, I studied for my Master’s degree in Banking and Finance at the University of Zurich.

 

________

In 2015, I became a Swiss citizen and have been swimming for Switzerland since then. Once at the Olympic Games in Rio 2016, three times at World Championships – in 2015, 2017 and 2019. And twice at European Championships – in 2016 and 2018.

________

There are two European Championship medals and a Master’s degree in Banking and Finance hanging on the wall at my home in Uster. My strength is versatility. At the beginning of my career I was swimming butterfly and freestyle races. Now, the 200-meter medley  became my main race. My career is currently on the up and the feeling is good. Olympic Games in Tokyo 2021, postponed because of the COVID-19, has been noted in my calendar.

________

200 m Individual Medley

       Queen of swimming – 4 disciplines in one competition 

50m

Butterfly

Butterfly is my favorite. I like it the most. It’s not easy and works better if you swim it fast. That’s why it feels intense and natural in competition.

START                                                                ========>

50m

Backstroke

Backstroke feels like a relationship with a friend. It always works – regardless of my form.

<========

50m

Breaststroke

Breaststroke was a very exhausting relationship at the beginning. I had to invest a lot in this discipline. The technic is one of the most difficult to understand. Since I know more about it today, I can swim it faster with less effort.

========>

50m

Freestyle

Front crawl is my stable relationship. It is the one that I swim most on every training. It gives me a feeling of security and it is always there to make a winning finish. An intensive relationship.

Finish                                                                <========

My Team

Coach

Pablo Kutscher

Pablo has been my coach since 2014. The elite team coach of SC Uster Wallisellen says: “Maria is like a fish. She combines everything: a love of water, talent, will and discipline. She is incredibly competitive. A pretty perfect match. As a coach, I can learn something from her every day and I am really excited about what is still to come. No limits!”

Portrait_Rene%C3%8C%C2%81_edited.jpg

Masseur

René Albertin

René makes sure that I can train without any complaints and perform optimally in competitions. After 20 years’ experience working with top athletes at Swiss Aquatics and Swiss Triathlon, he has been looking after me for two years and says: "Maria is the perfect professional athlete. Her feeling for her body and her muscles is impressive, precise and clear."

Fitness Coach

Joachim Staub

Joachim is responsible for my fitness shape. He works in the field of sport and health at EPFL and the University of Lausanne, and has been looking after me since my time in Lausanne – since 2010.

He says: “Maria is an exceptional athlete with exceptional qualities. She is able to move forward with the wind or against the wind and successfully manages her career, always ready to take a step back to make the best of every situation and learn from it.”

Photo_le_13.07.20_a%C3%8C%C2%80_20_edite

Management

Daniela Gisler

 

Daniela advises world-class athletes, supporting them in all aspects – from concept to implementation and from media communication to marketing. Since 2011, she has been Managing Partner of samm group AG and since 2020, owner and Managing Director of Daniela Gisler Sportmanagement & Kommunikation. 

Daniela Gisler has been working with me since March 2020.

C'est moi

Ma mère et mon père étaient les deux entraîneurs de natation alors l’eau était mon premier element naturel encore avant d'apprendre à marcher, mon premier amour omniprésent. Je m’appelle Maria Ugolkova, je suis venue au monde au milieu de l’été 1989 à Moscou. C’était l’époque de Mikhaïl Gorbatchev, de la "perestroïka" et de la "glasnost", les frontières de l’Union soviétique s’ouvraient. La piscine couverte de la ville est devenue mon séjour quotidien, j’ai nagé pour la première fois à l’âge de deux ans.

À partir de ce moment-là, la natation est devenue ma vie. 

________

À l’âge de 16 ans, j’ai déménagé avec ma mère en Suisse pour son nouveau travail en tant que entraîneur à Lugano. Nager, étudier, nager. La langue italienne et le style de vie sont devenus mon deuxième amour. La joie de vivre, l’exubérance, le bon goût, la culture méridionale, la cuisine et la musicalité de la langue italienne: ainsi le Tessin est devenu ma deuxième patrie. J’ai passé ma maturité au Lycée de Lugano. Dans la même année (2009) j'ai participé pour la première fois dans le Championnat du Monde à Rome avec l'équipe national russe. À ce moment là, j'avais déjà établi 3 records nationaux russes. Je remercie tout d'abord ma mère, qui était ma première coach jusqu'à là pour ce succés. 

________

À l’âge de 20 ans, j’ai fait mes valises pour m’installer à Lausanne. J’ai étudié l’économie à l’Université et j’ai porté les couleurs de Lausanne Natation. Ma mère est restée au Tessin. En 2012, j’ai disputé pour la dernière fois les Championnats d’Europe de natation en tant que membre de l’équipe nationale russe. Deux ans plus tard, j’ai obtenu mon Bachelor en Economie dans une langue supplémentaire: le français. 

________

En été 2014, j’ai déménagé encore une fois pour continuer mes études, cette fois en Suisse alémanique, à Zurich. Étudiante, 24 ans, quadrilingue et avec une décision à prendre: nager ou pas. 

Le Club de natation d’Uster Wallisellen m'avait facilité le choix. J’y ai trouvé mon nouvel entraîneur, ma nouvelle motivation. Et à l’Université de Zurich, j’ai obtenu un Master en Banking et Finance.

 

________

En 2015, j’ai obtenu la nationalité helvétique, et depuis lors, je nage pour la Suisse. Une fois aux Jeux Olympiques de Rio en 2016, trois fois aux Championnats du Monde, en 2015, 2017 et 2019. Et deux fois aux Championnats d’Europe, en 2016 et 2018.

________

Chez moi, à la maison à Uster, j’ai accroché au mur deux médailles des Championnats d’Europe et un Master en Banking et Finance. La polyvalence est ma force. Après avoir nagé au début de ma carrière le dauphin et la nage libre, le 200 mètres quatre nages est devenu ma discipline principale. Ma carrière suit une courbe exponentielle, j’ai de bonnes sensations. Les Jeux Olympiques de Tokyo 2021, déplacés  à cause de COVID-19, sont notées dans mon calendrier.

________

200m 4 Nages

                                  Reine de la natation - une compétition réunissant 4 disciplines

50m

Dauphin

Le dauphin est mon favori. C’est celui que je préfère. Il n’est pas tout simple et on le nage mieux lorsqu’on a de la vitesse. C’est pourquoi il donne des sensations d’intensité et semble naturel en compétition.

Début ========>

50m

Dos

La nage sur le dos est semblable à une relation avec un ami. Elle fonctionne toujours, peu importe ma forme.

<========

50m

Brasse

Au début, j’avais une relation compliquée avec la brasse. J’ai dû beaucoup investir dans cette discipline. En plus, techniquement elle est une des plus difficiles à comprendre. Étant donné que j'ai plus d'experience aujourd’hui, je suis plus rapide avec moins d’effort.

========>

50m

Nage Libre

J’entretiens une relation stable avec le crawl. Je l’entraîne pratiquement lors de chaque entraînement. Il me donne de la sécurité et il est toujours là pour finir ma course en manière gagnant. Une relation intense.

Fin                                                                 <========

Mon Équipe

Entraîneur

Pablo Kutscher

Pablo m'entraîne depuis 2014. Voici ce que l’entraîneur de l'équipe du groupe élite du SC Uster Wallisellen dit: «Maria est un véritable poisson. Chez elle, tout est réuni: l’amour de l’eau, le talent, la volonté et la discipline. De plus, c’est une très bonne compétitrice. C’est un mélange presque parfait. Comme entraîneur, j’apprends tous les jours quelque chose à ses côtés et je me réjouis de ce qui nous attend dans le futur. No limits!»

Portrait_Rene%C3%8C%C2%81_edited.jpg

Masseur

René Albertin

René veille à ce que je puisse m’entraîner sans douleurs et réaliser des performances optimales en compétition. Après 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de pointe chez Swiss Aquatics et Swiss Triathlon, il me suit depuis deux ans et dit: «Pour moi, Maria est la sportive professionnelle parfaite. C’est impressionnant de voir à quel point elle sent son corps et sa musculature. Elle est précise et claire».

Préparateur Physique 

Joachim Staub

Joachim est mon préparateur physique. Il travaille dans le centre du sport et de la santé auprès de l’EPFL et de l’Université de Lausanne; il me suit depuis mon passage à Lausanne, c’est-à-dire depuis 2010.

​Voici ce qu’il dit: «Maria est une sportive exceptionnelle dotée de qualités hors du commun. Elle est capable de progresser peu importe les circonstances, gère sa carrière avec du courage et est toujours disposée à prendre du recul pour obtenir le maximum dans toutes les situations et tirer des enseignements.»

Photo_le_13.07.20_a%C3%8C%C2%80_20_edite

 

 

 

Management

Daniela Gisler

 

Daniela conseille des athlètes de classe mondiale et offre un suivi global – du concept à la réalisation, de la communication avec les médias à la commercialisation. Depuis 2011, elle travaille comme Managing Partner de samm group AG, et depuis 2020 pour Daniela Gisler Sportmanagement & Kommunikation. 

Daniela Gisler travaille avec moi depuis mars 2020.